Skip to content

Many Recognitions and Awards Presented at Annual Ceremony

During its annual Awards Ceremony held virtually on the evening of Thursday, March 25, 2021, the University of Sudbury had the pleasure of recognizing the exceptional leadership, dedication and success of students, employees, and of the Honourable Robert Del Frate, an individual showing great community pride and involvement.

With a holistic approach, University of Sudbury students are encouraged to develop not only their resumes, but themselves, to become engaged citizens transforming the world through service to others and right relationships. Student awards recognize such development and values, in addition to academic achievement, and this year, we congratulated the following recipients:

Senate and Leadership Awards:

  • Vladimir Berens Award in Philosophy: Rebecca Turcotte
  • Vladimir-Berens en Philosophie: Yan Charest-Jacques
  • Community Volunteer / Engagement communautaire: Christina Filice
  • Personal Development / Croissance personnelle: Désirée Gleglaud Boni
  • Heart of UofS / Coeur de l'UdeS: Connor Lafortune
  • Red Pianosi / « Red » Pianosi: Olivia Broomer

Also recognized are the students selected for the third edition of the Normand Forest Leadership Program: Vivianne Claude, El Hadji Baye Dame Diop, Mohammed El Mendri, Isabelle Minor and Zachary Zarichney. This group of undergraduate students took on a leadership role at the University of Sudbury, in addition to receiving an associated $1500 scholarship to help finance their studies.

Tatum McAdam, Jessica Lawson, Mohammed El Mendri, Briana Lefort, Isabelle Minor, Vivianne Claude, Brook Morneau, and Sean Patterson were also recognized for their participation in the Community Engagement Certificate Program, organized by the University of Sudbury Spiritual Services Office.

Those receiving substantial scholarships were also celebrated, notably the recipients of the:

  • Rotary Indigenous Scholarship Fund (a continuing scholarship providing recipients with $5,000 per year until completion of their undergraduate degree)
  • Dr. Constance Elaine Jayne Williams and Charles L. Williams Educational Trust Scholarship (a continuing scholarship providing recipients with $7,000 per year until completion of their undergraduate degree)
  • (New) Bursaries for Postsecondary Studies in French as a Second Language Program ($3,000 bursary)

Note that further communications on these scholarship recipients are forthcoming.

This ceremony is also an occasion to recognize employees. For their long-standing dedication, we highlighted Dr. Paolo Biondi’s 15 years of service, and Lisa McBain’s 25 years of service. The Caritas Award is given to an employee who, according to their colleagues, embodies the University’s core values, and this year, it was presented to Marianne Denis-Séguin. Due to their upcoming retirements, the University also took this occasion to recognize Dr. Mary Ann Corbiere, an Associate Professor in the Indigenous Studies Department and a long-standing Nishnaabemwin educator, and Dr. Melchior Mbonimpa, a Full Professor in the Religious Studies Department and well-known Franco-Ontarian author, for their numerous important contributions over the past three decades at the University of Sudbury.

Furthermore, an Honourary Doctorate in Sacred Letters was conferred upon The Honourable Robert Del Frate, a recently retired judge of the Superior Court of Ontario – the first to be Italian-born – who has made deep roots in Sudbury. A hard-working, approachable, respectful individual, his community pride can be seen by his various involvements over many years. He showed his commitment and leadership early on, earning himself the Sword of Loyola Award, the University of Sudbury’s highest student leadership award, in 1967. He continued to show great loyalty and engagement throughout the years, notably within the University of Sudbury, Laurentian Federation, Francophone, Italian and other Greater Sudbury communities. To read more about his background and activities, see our previous Press Release.

“We are delighted to confer this honourary degree to a leader who is so well-known and appreciated in many local communities, including that of the University of Sudbury. He truly embodies service, connection, community and the values we promote. We offer our sincere thanks and congratulations to The Honourable Del Frate,” states Dr. John Meehan, S.J., President and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Sudbury. “We also congratulate all our students who were recognized for their varied successes, involvements and honourable qualities, as well as our deeply dedicated employees who are here for the students and the backbone of our institution, playing a vital role in these success stories.”

Le chancelier Gérald Michel qui remet le degré encadré à Robert Del Frate, les deux vêtus de toges et de masques, et M. Del Frate avec l'épitoge bleu ciel et or. Photos of both Senate Award winner, in Philosophy: Rebecca Turcotte and Yan Charest-Jacques, on a black background.

Photos of Christina Filice, winner of the Community Volunteer Award, and of Désirée Gleglaud Boni, winner of the Personal Development Award. Photos of Connor Lafortune, winner of the Heart of U of S Award, and Olivia Broomer, winner of the Red Pianosi Award, on a black background.

See more photos on our Facebook page.

A- A A+